Single man, looking at Ecuador to retire

Hola, i am single Canadian man researching the possibly to eventually retire in Ecuador.

I've been reading this forum for weeks and would like to compliment the forum for being so civil, polite, and informative.

About myself, i'm educated, reasonably well traveled, have lived in the Caribbean and Costa Rica, and now thinking about spending the next chapter of life in Ecuador. I figure I'm in the youth-of-old age so to speak, and while still comfortably able, its time for another life-adventure, one with a cultural shift. Ecuador is looking like a good match for my vision of how and where I want to live.

Career-wise, I'm (still) in the software development field and can live and work from anywhere. In my youth i was a hands-on residential builder/developer, so i'm thinking about developing a small property and building a small hacienda, nothing extravagant, more for the pleasure and beauty of it. (so, if you are a single female architect reading this, jajaja.. ok, whoops this is not a singles ad)

After doing a lot of research on Ecuador i finally settled into a comfortable preconceived notion that Santa Isabel (or similar) seems to be the right location for me. At first glance the valley seems to be everything I am looking for, except maybe high-speed cable internet access, but by the time i get to Ecuador, that will probably be available in this location. I like its proximity to Cuenca and the fact that there is a good highway between Santa Isabel and Cuenca.

I like to garden, grow, and build things as a hobby. Among other things growing my own coffee beans appeals to me, not to mention the smokey flavour coffee bush twigs impart to roasted pollo. Wow.