Salary in Angola - Luanda

Hi Guys

Hope you can help. I am currently living in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am a Manager with a big 4 company and need some help with my package negotiations. The problem: I don't know what salary I should earn ? Housing and Transport excluded ?

Thanks for your help !
Tony

Hi Tony, not sure about the salary but definitely negotiate housing, transportation and meals otherwise you will loose your shirt here.

Housing and transport a must

[moderated : you are :offtopic:]

Hi Tony

I don't personally work here, I am a stay at home dad, but I knew a few friends who used to work here in Luanda for different companies all in different fields i.e. Electrician, Finance etc. From what I can gather Angola has certain laws regarding salary levels for xpats with degrees in any field except the engineering fields. The more regular types like anything Bcom, Btech and even computer programming degrees including technical artisans will be no more than about $5000 per month. My one friend was a qualified electrician and the other had some MBA degree in management and they both earned only $5000 per month. But it can also be less depending on the extra perks you receive.

I personally would not come to Angola for under $5000 per month. The must have perks are also a driver with a car, normally some 4X4 like a Prado, nice house in Tala Tona which is the better area to live in, school fees should you have kids and off course medical aid for the local clinic and hospital here. This is normally through Ensa over here. these are the basic must have perks and salary which every expat I knew has received while being here. Other things include the flight ticket to and from SA every 3 months or so.

Hi,
     I hope your doing well.