What should i do? :S

Hello :)
I'm a student and will be coming to Hanoi for student exchange. So its gonna be some exciting new adventure for me but yet im too nervous and anxious about it.

Is there anything that I should and Shouldnt do during my first  arrival in Hanoi?? Feels like a lost kid :/

Irah,

Leave your ethnocentric tendencies behind.  They are not good to lug around with you anywhere, let alone to a place where the social and political cultures are as unique as Vietnam.

Not to worry, though.  I am certain the people at your host school will make you feel welcome.

If anything, you can come onto here, and these guys will help you out.  There are some very capable folks on here.

Best,
Howie

Thank you for the advice.

What worry me the most is how am i gonna survive crossing the road? I did some research on this but not very much of a help.
Any tips?

:lol:

I was feeling the same way, when I first arrived in Vietnam.  This is how I solved that:

I went down to my hotel lobby, in my second aftertoon (the least busy time of day in Vietnam).  I located the security guard and offered him 50 thousand Dongs (Today.  That would be around 200 thousand.), and asked him to show me how to cross the street.

He walked me across and back once, showing me the importance of keeping a steady pace and always looking at the oncoming traffic.  Then, I asked him to cross with me again, except allow me to take the lead...  Finally, I asked the guy to help keep an eye on me, as I crossed it by myself.

The guy stepped out with me every time I attempted to cross the street for a couple of days, afterward, and I was on my way. 

Not only I was able to learn an important aspect of Vietnamese life, but I also made a friend, in a very strategic area of my life.

Until this day, he and I still talk about that lesson, whenever we sit down for coffee or beer.