Job market and working culture

Hi all,

My husband and I will be moving to NYC in a couple of months. He will come on a company transfer visa, meaning I get to apply for EAD.

My question however is, will it be hard to find a job in the current economic situation in NY? Even though I have a European Masters degree in Economics, and about 5 years of working experience in Finance/accounting, I heard the job market is very tough and competitive.

And what's it like to work in NYC? Should I expect to work 12+ hours/day with high pressure or does the working culture strongly varies from company to company?

Thanks!

Accounting could be a field for you, but you may have to do some entry level work, since you have no experience in USA accounting and taxes.  Most big firms have you doing field auditing, with long hours the norm.  For Americans they wave the carrot of becoming a partner some day, but many quit after two years.  If you would decide to become a CPA the good news is that field auditing hours are no longer required.  I am more familiar with PA rather than NY.  Good Luck

sofke23 wrote:

And what's it like to work in NYC? Should I expect to work 12+ hours/day with high pressure or does the working culture strongly varies from company to company?

Yes and yes.  Those long European lunches won't fly in New York.

Thanks for the replies!

I'm not really an accountant as such, I'm more in finance (analyst/controller), hence a position in one of the Big 4 won't be for me.
I've heard about high pressure and long working hours in NYC, but we've also lived in Singapore and people were saying exactly the same about working in S'pore, while in reality it wasn't too bad.