Advice and suggestions for an expatriate

Good evening every body, I am a civil engineer graduated this year from India and i have been living in Riyadh since my birth, I am a very talented and hardworking individual with excellent academics. Now i am unable to find a decent job here even though there is lot of requirement for engineers, I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW ANY TIPS AND IDEAS FOR GETTING EMPLOYED...I HAVE TRIED ALMOST ALL THE ONLINE JOB PORTALS BUT NO RESULT HAS COME...ANY ADVICE WOULD B APPECIATED. JAZAKALLAH AND THANX

The best advice here would be: Don't lose hopes.

The job market has been horrible but I strongly believe than situation will change dramatically on expiry of the ongoing grace period i.e. 3rd of July. Meanwhile explore the evolution in the job hunting methodologies; majorly the linkedin paradigm (and similars).

Thank you, your advice is appreciated

- Arab News on Saturdays are usually when Companies looking for recruiting place their adds.

- Calling the firm after sending your CV for follow-up is a very good tip.

- Networking.

- Looking for a Wassta and calling people for favors

My experience with job portals are huge and what I know is numbers matter there. Just to give you a simple insight:

If you apply for 3 -4 or up to 10 jobs online chances of you getting called for an interview from the pile of applications an employer receives is very rare, unless of course your CV stands out like a flashing beacon. If you dont have a killer CV the game plan is to apply for as many jobs as you can in these portals.

Simple statistics - if you apply for at least 50-80 jobs you might get called for an interview for 10 or less and your chances of getting an offer is may be 1-3. So the more you apply the more chances you get.