American woman in Belgium

Hello!
I am an American woman who moved to Belgium eight weeks ago, completely alone and not knowing a single person in the country.  I've had quite a time adjusting and have yet to make any friends but I am looking forward to the adventure!  I'm living in a relatively rural town and with a busy job I haven't had time to do any of the traveling that I was hoping for.   So far my biggest obstacles have been loneliness and boredom.  I'm relieved that there are others out there who are feeling the same way!

Welcome on Expat.com jamberrytoast!

Why did you move to Belgium ? professional reasons ?

Thanks!
I moved to Belgium to be an Au Pair for a family with three children, twin one year olds and a three year old.  I was motivated both my interest in children and my desire to experience a new culture.  I graduated from university in May 2009 and I wanted to see a bit more of the world that I had read so much about.  I am still debating whether or not Belgium was the best choice but I am here now so I am going to make the best of it!  I plan on venturing to another country after my year here is over but I am still undecided on where I will go.  I had never lived further than 30 minutes away from my childhood home until I moved here, thus the difficulties adjusting and getting used to being alone.  Though it has been tough, I am very excited about living abroad and I am greatly anticipating the future.

Hey jamberrytoast!

Good luck with everything! Belgium is special and if you survived the winter, you'll survive the year ;-)
I hope you'll soon get to meet some people to show you around and the night life of Belgium! I don't know much about the area you're staying but as far as I know, every "city" has its center and its animation on weekends nights! If you like rock & pop music and get some free days during the summer, try to catch a music festival, one of Belgium's special!!!