What is life like in Atyrau?

Hi All:

I am a Canadian Mechanical Engineer, with a possible offer to come work in Atyrau. I know nothing about the place, but the offer (as far as pay goes at least) seems very generous. But it seems like any available information online about this place is very limited.

The offer would likely be with Shell Oil, but still I know nothing about the housing or accommodations I can expect, the internet speed, things to do there, sports & exercise facilities, gyms, safety and security concerns, restaurants, transportation, night life, etc.

What about the cost of living out there, compared to, say, Canada? Will my money go far less further there?

I am married with a small child (2 yrs old), and we also have a small, wonderful and playful dog, I would want to bring them with me as well, but I heard that stray dogs roam the streets everythwere out there...is this true? Or would we be in a secure compound, with no stray dogs around, in a safe place for my dog? Would you say it's a safe enough place for my wife and family to come to Atyrau to live with me while I work here, provided we are careful and only stay in and around the best / safest places?

And, of course, I am at work all day, so I would want to know that my wife and family would be safe during the day while I am away from them, busy working in my job.

Any information anyone can provide me would be great. Thanks so much!

Cheers,
Dachshundman1

[moderated: no free ads please]

Definetly life in Atyray is different from Canadian. However we have safe residential communities for living in. Usualy families prefer to rent townhouses in the safe area. As for the dogs, no one will stray the dog if it is not walking alone. You can contact me for any help you need.

Hi there,