Hey all, newbie here...just a bit of info.

Hey all!  Just found this site and think it's a fantastic idea! 

My husband and I are planning early retirement and have been considering Ecuador.  You know that when you first begin searching for relocation info, you will find tons of "touristy" material, which make it sound like the best place on earth, with no problems. We realize, however, that simply isn't true.  Every place on the globe has "good" and "bad" and we don't want to base our decision based on what some realtor or travel site tells us, we want the REAL scoop. I'm hoping this is the best place for that.

We are planning on taking a trip down by the end of this year to take a look around.  We're especially interested in areas that are safe, with some other ex-pats we can learn from.  We're looking for a life that's simple, peaceful and pure.  We are excited about immersing ourselves in a new culture, learning Spanish and soaking up all we can to fit into a new country.

I hope to meet a lot of you here online and perhaps again someday in person in beautiful Ecuador.

Hi, Laura. Best of luck with your plans. You're wise not to believe everything you read. People obviously have varying viewpoints and online businesses are interested in selling their wares. Take everything with a grain of salt (including this -- LOL).

I've been overseas for a year now, in the Philippines and I plan to move to Ecuador soon. I'd say that the biggest lesson I've learned is to not make commitments that can't be reversed -- e.g., buying a house. I've seen/heard of several expats fall in love with a place and buy property. Then, when the honeymoon is over, they can't leave because the property is hard/impossible to sell.

I don't know what your real estate plans are, but I'd strongly recommend not buying until you've been in a place long enough to know it's where you want to stay.

Bob