Help: Amunt refunded from a US company not received yet.

Hi,

I dunno who to ask about this, so posting this here.I would really appreciate some help here. I feel so stuck in this situation.

This is the story
I am a student (unemployed) from India and I wanted to take this online course based in the USA. It had a time payment option of US$550 spread over 6 months which I opted for and paid the first installment using the credit card of an acquaintance. It showed a secured transaction but after the payment the acquaintance's credit card got blocked stating security reasons.

After 3 weeks I decided to quit the course from the next term when it is notified but the second installment  amount was automatically deducted from the same card and a bill was sent. After intial disagreements they consented for a refund and a bill of refund confirmation was sent along with a transaction id. But this amount has not been credited in the cardholder's a/c still and it has been 4 days.

This is very stressful for me as it is not even my card, so I cant move the complaint myself. I'm not sure if the company has sent the amount or if the problem is with the bank. Even the acquaintance isnt usually the most honest jack in the pack.

It was a bad move on my part but is there something I could do about this? USD 550 is a pretty big deal for me.

Any advice would be much appreciated

Tia

Hello Tia.

Welcome to Expat.com! :)

Hope you'll be helped by other members soon.

Thank you,
Aurélie

Hi Tia

Very sorry to hear about your situation. Which company/school did you enrol with? If it is an accredited, established academic institution, you will probably get your money refunded - eventually. Unfortunately, this sort of questionable business activity happens all the time in the US.