How much salary required

Hello,

I am an IT Professional from Indian and planning to move to Malaysia. I would appreciate if you can provide the info on cost of living to stay in Kuala Lumpur. I am married and having 2 kids (2 years and 6 years). I am getting some offers but confused on salary expectations due to lack of info on cost of living.
I am south-Indian (vegetarian)and average in spending. I want to know the following info for calculating my expenses to arrive:

1) Monthly House rent for 2 Bedroom house in decent locality in Kuala Lumpur
2) Monthly House-hold expenses for 4-member family including 2 kids (Groceries+Electricity, mobile, internet bills+ Medical expenses+ etc.)
3)Transport expenses
4)Average yearly education expenses for 2 kids (1 nursery + 1 1st standard)

Let me know if there are any other expenses.   

TR

You need about 15k gross to afford two kids at school and support a family plus decent house. Some might scrape by on 10k but only just assuming no travel no entertainment. You will spend 4k a month min on education. 2k min on house and more these days. Food and travel min 2k so that is 8k net before clothes medical etc or a single DVD!

Hi Shashi,

Nemo is quite accurate. He is missing taxes though ;-) I would advise you to pay attention to the school fees when measuring costs. This is a big chunk and can be higher than any other expense, including housing.

Two questions:
- Where is your office located?
- Which school do you want to send your 6-year old to? And what curriculum do you want her to learn?