Accommodation (OR) monthly house allowance

Hi all,
I am new to the blog, but I read a lot in the past month. it is an amazing idea!!!! and too much information to handle.
Any way My name is Gaily and I am moving some time in May-July to Riyadh from Dallas,TX.
I have been hired by the National Guard Hospital My question is... I just received the employment offer and it stats "Accommodation (OR) monthly house allowance 5200SR
1- will they give me choice?
2- which one is better
3- I heard it is better to take the accommodation if it is available.... how would I know if it is available?
4- if I am looking to rent for me, my wife and 2 kids, is it enough?
thanks so much for you feedback in advance
hope to hear from you soon.

Welcome to Expat.com allgaily!

Hope that you'll soon be advised.;)

Harmonie

Thanks Harmonie.

hi gaily first of all welcome in riyadh :D ..
i work also for national guard
its good if u take the accommodation in one of the compounds that national guard have .. your kids will be in safe area and they can enjoy the facilities .. and the transportation are available in the most times of the day like buses .. to the hospital or for the shopping ..

first of all accomodation/monthly house allowance means you will be getting cash for the house as 5200 SAR/-. it includes they just pay the amount but it is your responsibility to find a house .

you can find houses as per your budget which is easy in saudi as the rental chrges are nominal only.

5,200 SAR per month right? It's not sufficient budget to have accomodation in a western compound. And I guess you won't be interested to live in an apartment outside compounds.

If I were you, I'd ask them to provide accomodation preferably in one of their maintained/owned compounds.