Questions from a newbie

Hi newbie here, my hubby and I are planning our move soon to Alajuela, CR. I am very anxious and excited. I'm looking forward to meeting new people and experiencing a new life away from where I have been.

What are your favorite things about living in Costa Rica?
What are your favorte things to do there?
What other positive things can you tell me about life in Costa Rica?

Thank you so much! <3 HUGS <3 :)

Welcome to Expat.com DivineStar!;)

Harmonie.

First things first; let's just take off the rose colored glasses. Living in Costa Rica is really no different than living anywhere else in the world. Some aspects are truly amazing and some are truly depressing. All immigrants face some serious challenges and it's best to look at everything very cautiously. There is very little typical excitement/entertainment here and 99% is found in San Jose, which is a challenge in and of itself. I am talking big concerts, theater shows, etc. I am not a crowd type of person, but there are many festivals and events throughout the year. There are tons of wonderful places to explore but it is best to have a good 4x4 to tackle the rough roads and steep mountains. Between my friends and I, we figure we spend about $2000 a year, on the average, maintaining our vehicles. If you stay solely on the roads in the central valley, it can be a little less…that is, if you do not get into an accident. Nature is stunning here but Costa Rica is also one of the number one consumers of pesticides in the world. It can be heart breaking to see the state of rivers that run through the Central Valley too. I love to travel around and see all there is and my biggest regret is that I don't have enough money to stay longer and see more. The best thing you can bring here is patience, tolerance and a good sense of humor. Learning Spanish will greatly increase the quality of your life too.
Good Luck!