Possible move to Montreal with husband and 2 young children

Hello

My husband  may have the opportunity to work in Montreal, Canada for 3 years with his company. We live near Edinburgh with our 2 children , 5 and 3, just now and I work part-time as a teacher.  We are just looking into things just now like living costs, education, lifestyle etc. We are both enthusiastic about the possible move but also apprehensive at the same time as we would be taking our children away from close family and friends and my son just started school in August and he is very settled there. I would probably be able to take a career break if we went as I would want to be around for my kids to settle them in a new country.  My husband is on a good salary here and if that sallary was matched over there then he would potentially be earning over 100,000 Canadian dollars. I have no idea if this is a decent enough salary to support us all as I would not be earning and we don't want to go there and have no spare cash to do things together as a family etc. Also not sure if my son would be able to attend and English speaking school that taught French as a separate subject as I am apprehensive about him attending an all French speaking school to begin with. Any tips, suggestions etc would be really helpful.

Hi Moclark,

Check out schools on the following link:

http://www.gsgi.co.uk/countries/canada/ … s-consider

Cheers,
William James Woodward - Brazil Animator, Expat-blog Team

Hi,

A 100,000$ is an excellent salary to live in Montreal. I make much less with 2 kids and I rent a 4 1/2 (2 bedrooms) in an excellent condition for 800$.

I've been living in Montreal fro 17 years and it is a nice city to live in, its not too big not too small. You have also several kinds of architectural influences wich makes Montreal a nice city to visit.

hi