Canadian going to Ecuador for Volunteer Work

Hi everyone,

Firstly, this website is a wealth of information! I have read a lot of posts here and elsewhere. I am collecting as much information as I can - However I have been finding outdated information in some cases, meaning older articles and posts. As we all know, economic climates can change spontaneously.

I am leaving for Quito in March for a three month volunteering project. I will be working in a rural area in Riobamba. Still not certain how easy it will be to travel from Quito to there, luggage and all. I will be travelling alone, and certainly I will be culture shocked (never left North America before).

I finished college a couple of years ago, and have been working towards the white picket fence and the golden retriever. Perhaps its a quarter life crisis I am experiencing, but I need to get out in the world! I am certainly committing career suicide (I am a Process Improvement Manager for a telecommunications company, it took a lot of hard work and sleepless nights to climb the ladder), but I want to do something fulfilling, in which case, for now, is volunteering.

So, if you have read this far, thank you :) I have a few concerns, and I am hoping someone can give me a line of sight on reality there:

The project I am attached to will last for three months. I will work from 7-1:30ish teaching English to children (I am attempting to learn Spanish by myself right now). Since I am still paying off student loans, my budget is relatively low. I have set aside 1000$ CDN (comparable to USD) for this three month stint. Is this enough? Keep in mind my accommodations are paid for during my volunteer time.

If I choose to stay longer or travel after my project, is it possible for me to earn money there legitimately? Is there a job for someone like me?