Contact for finding long term rental in Costa Rica

My family (wife and 3 young children) are planning to move to Costa Rica for 6 months.  We don't know where we'd like to go except that we will be on a somewhat tight budget and want to expose the kids to Spanish language and Costa Rican culture.  We'd also like to be somewhere close to water.  We are planning to travel to Costa Rica for a week and scout possible places to live, but need suggestions.  Ideally we'd like a contact who can suggest a few towns for us to look at for our scouting trip.  Any suggestions are very kindly appreciated!

Hi!
My husband and I have been moving around Costa Rica for the past 4 years, and finally settled in for a long-term stay. We investigated various places by doing day trips, and stayed in several for 2-4 months. You can see some of our process here:
http://julieandrickincostarica.blogspot … label/town
I'm happy to help with specific questions - we don't have kids tho.
BTW - we also originally thought "yay, beach!" but found them too hot and a bit remote. Our list of wants and needs changed drastically as we investigated. I look back and laugh, and look forward and smile.  Hope you will be as fortunate!
Julie

since budget and water are high on your list, I would look at the following:
- arenal / la fortuna (largest lake)
- samara (beach, nicoya penninsula)
- orosi (river & lake)
- cahuita (beach, caribbean)

Hi!

There are plenty of options to choose from, lots of beaches with amazing sceneries.
I will suggest for you to get something in the Central Valley meanwhile you find out the place you want to live at! I will definitely suggest San Ramon.
I am currently in San Ramon; this is the real Pura Vida! I can see the ocean from my mountain chalet style home and the area is so secure and calm.
I am also 40 m away from the beach and 30 m away from the airport! What more can I ask for?