Waiting for Permesso di Soggiorno, US student transiting

I'm an American student studying full-time in Venice (I've been here since Sept 2010). I renewed my Permesso di Soggiorno in August, but it's still not ready and from what I understand now, this year it can take up to 6 months to process. The last few years it only took 3 months.

I have already booked my tickets for Dec 12th to go home to the US, but I have a transit in Germany.

Will I have problems transiting?
I will have my renewal receipt, the old Permesso, and my American passport with me.

Hi hellomarigold,

Welcome to Expat.com! :)

I hope you will receive some advise very soon.

All the best,
Christine

Hi Vann
Concerning your doubts about your need to transit from Germany to back home in the US, I must inform you that unfortunately this is not possible for you, as at the moment your visa is not yet renewed.
Indeed, in this case you can back home directly from Italy with a direct flight from our country. Of course you will need to show the expired visa, the receipt of the request of renewal and your passport.
Therefore in your case you risk to not be accepted in other Schengen countries with your actual expired visa.
To resolve your problem I suggest you to go to Questura di Venezia and require a temporary visa in a paper format for urgent reasons in order to do not risk to lose your already booked flight.
Regards

Ok, "italianlawyer" already knows this, but I wanted to put it on the forum for others to see:

I emailed the German Embassy in Rome and they said that I could in fact travel in other Schengen countries based upon European law and my right to the 90 day visa as an American citizen.

the diplomats exact words:

"american citizens can travel up to 90 days in the Schengen Area without visa. As you are living in Italy on the base of the italian national law, you can still travel to the Schengen States, because this right is based on european law."