Job seeking for low educated non EU citizens.

Hi everyone,
I am from Malaysia and currently been living in The Netherlands for 6 months. I don't speak Dutch fluently yet, but I've been told that my Dutch is sufficient enough to find a job. My highest education is upper secondary school. Which I understand is the level of education where you would have completed at the age of 16.

I have 11 years experience working in the service industry, namely restaurants, hotels and retail. I speak fluent English and Malay,sufficient Mandarin, some other chinese dialect and currently learning Dutch.

Despite the crisis going on in the job market, where do I stand in finding a job which I have a passion for? Which is retail sales. I keep getting rejections from the job applications I had sent for, without a direct and clear message of what I might be lacking.

I have tried a lot of the websites and Uitzendbureaus as well as walking into shops with vacancy signs with a resume at hand. Any Dutch recruiters who can help me?

Hello Meisje.

You can try to post an advert in the Jobs in the Netherlands section. It could help. :)

Thank you,
Aurélie

I do not know if you are geographically mobile or if you prefer to stay in the area where you are living.
Option one: taxi driver where a knowledge from your area is expected but not always necessary.
Option two: HoReCa (HOtel REstaurant CAfe)it would be possible to find a job but now you have in Europe the winter which attracts less tourists.

Option three: work from home. It is definitely my preference because your are writing fluently English and you control your hours. It is not a fast scheme but for my part it is what I did when I moved to Australia. The job I have now help me to build contacts, brings income and follow me everywhere I go.
It makes that I will never have the problem to find again a job.
Of you need to work to get results.
You can still contact me if you need more info.

I wish you success.

Stephan

To Aurélie,