Working in Malta - Moving from UK

Hi guys,

I am very new to this, and i've never moved away from my hometown before so moving to malta would be a massive step,

At the moment i have a passport and money in my bank.

I intend to make a move to malta perminant,

Before i come out what documents will i need.. i am going on a holiday next week to see about jobs and accomodation is there anything i can be doing whilst im in Malta?

Surely i can't just turn up in malta, rent a house and start working.. what do i have to do before i can start working

I know this will all seem silly to you guys but i genuinely have no idea..

I look forward to hearing from any of you.

Kindest regards,
Jordan

Are you a citizen of an EU country ?

I think you can just turn up and work as a British Citizen, most EU citizens can too.

You will need an ID Card, just go to the ID office in Valletta and get one.

When you get a job then your employers will have to do a application for work permit which is automatic I believe but the paperwork and fee need paying its 50 euros or so.

I would get round the agencies here and send cv applications before you arrive, if you have a LinkedIn profile I would join the Malta groups.

Hope that helps. Although it is easier to find work when you are here I would have very reasonable expectations about how long it will take , it depends on your skills but some people find it difficult to find work here.

Hi jordlea,

welcome to the forum.

You should take the time to read the past posts in the relevant threads.

As an EU citizen (excluding Romania and Bulgaria) you do not need a work permit but have to register with the ETC when you find work.

I can't judge your specific job/work chances as you don't give any details but if you have IT qualifications and foreign language skills it should not be too hard. If you are looking for a ' I will do anything' kind of job it could be difficult to find a decent paying job and stay in Malta permanently.

Cheers
Ricky