What is your experience with Blog directories?

Hi All,

In the process of publishing my blog, and as an absolute newbie to the world of blogging, I looked for good blog directories to 'make my blog public' in the past 2 months.

Apparently there are many, many directories, with all kinds of flavours (special interest, general, offering ranking, offering free or paid services, etc..). I also found all kinds of 'derivates' or special services, where you can do blogrolling, publish/manage feeds, etc...

I got quite frustrated with some directories, who gave me a hard time to register, who would spam-mail me after registration, or who would accept submission, but never include me in the directory etc..

Others were excellent.. User friendly, added value, excellent support.

What are your experiences? I will try to assemble all comments/recommendations and summarize the outcome so other newbies (like me) don't have to go through the same hassle...

Pse post comments as a reply to this post.

Thanks,

Peter.

The only thing I can tell you is that I am you'll like the next version of the expatriate blog directory! (that is all what I can say at the moment...)

Having it listed here has gotten me more hits than anything else because people coming here are looking specifically for the kind of blog I have!
I also am on Technorati but I don't think I get many hits from there at all.
Having good searchable stuff is probably the second most helpful thing - Google can be really great.  Give your post titles especially names that are search-friendly.
Good luck.

Having it listed here has gotten me more hits than anything else because people coming here are looking specifically for the kind of blog I have!

I fully agree with you! Expat-blog was the first directory I registered in, and it has been great.