Cost of life and everyday life in Caracas

Hi,

I'm a 29 yo female teacher moving to Caracas on my own in August and wondered two things.

Firstly, what is the monthly amount in Bolivares that sounds right to need monthly, aside from rent (not including rent). A rough idea would be great.

Secondly, I will live in Altamira but I am keen to go out and do things like practice dance, etc. Provided I watch the areas I go to, is it usually okay for single females to go about or is it entirely crazy to walk alone at night?

Despite reading about Venezuela, it's hard to picture which restrictions are compulsory or just standard caution one would exercice anywhere.

Thanks for your tips,

Emilie

Hi Emilie!

Welcome to Expat.com ;)

Armand

Hello everybody!
I was thinking to post the same thing! So , if its ok I would like to add myself too here!
I am Maria from Athens and I am considering in moving to Caracas in afew months, and yes I was thinking for Altamira area, because from what I have read on the internet seems the most secure area.
But the cost of life is something I would like to know in addition with the salaries there and the rent.

Thank you in advance!:)

Emily and airamhag
I am naturaly for Caracas, at the moment not living there but still go there for vacations and my family still live there. I would like to advice you not to try to walk alone at any time of the day. Be also caraefull with the taxis there are many pirate ones and they kidnap and do bad things.
It is entirely crazy to walk alone at nightis in a not a safe city.  Why don`t you try to find a roommate? In the other hand are you sure about your country election?
Best regards and best of lucks

+Hi Nigusi,