Work permit (job offered in portugal)

Hi all,

I have been offered a job in Portugal, and now I have to secure a work or residence permit (I have a PhD, and I am Non-EU). My company has not done this before, so I think I will have to gather the correct information (they have not posted the job on labor website or anything like that).

1) Can someone elaborate on the process? From google, I have found that there could be two types of permits I can go for: A) work permit for job, B) highly-skilled permit.

2)Can you also tell me what my company needs to do, in order to have the work permit granted to me.

3) What I need to do should essentially be simple enough once the company takes the right steps. I should just take the contract and the proof company provides that why they need me, and that should be enough

4) Is this true that I will first get a 6 month visa, and once I am in portugal, I apply for work permit? This seems so risky, for instance if I odn;t get it then I am screwed.

Niland

Hi Niland and welcome to Expat.com!

Do not hesitate to browse through the forum, it may help.;)

I wish you all the best,
Harmonie.

Hello can anybody help me. If anyone no have any vissa and he enter in Europe without any vissa. Then how many month I need to pay TeX in Portugal. And what is best for me I do

rajansharma1 wrote:

Hello can anybody help me. If anyone no have any vissa and he enter in Europe without any vissa. Then how many month I need to pay TeX in Portugal. And what is best for me I do

You will need a visa to get into any European country unless you are a EU resident with the correct passport. 
No visa no entry.

hi i am dr and i want to work as a general dr in portugal and i dont have visa till, can anybody help me how to get a job and visa,,thanks

Dr.Khizir wrote:

hi i am dr and i want to work as a general dr in portugal and i dont have visa till, can anybody help me how to get a job and visa,,thanks

Read my previous post. No visa no entry.