Private English Tutoring Tips

Hi,

I would like to try a bit of private english tutoring in HCMC. I am a CELTA-qualified teacher who currently works for the largest language school in the city.

Can any english teachers give me any tips as to the best way that I can go about this?

The other thing that I am wondering is what sort of rate I should be charging? - I am an experienced teacher, with experience over a range of age ranges.

Obviously I would like to get the best rate possible, however I don't want to price myself out of the market.

Any advise would be much appreciated

Cheers,

Ben

~ Get business cards made that have your picture on them.

~ Target a particular student segment, e.g., students who want to study abroad.  Most of them will have to take the IELTS, so you also become an expert on preparing for that test and the myriad of others that I mention in the next paragraph.

~Have literature printed that is designed for the segment, but also states that you tutor the 4 skills: Reading, Writing, Listening and Speaking, or visa versa: IELTS, TOEFL, TOEIC, PET, KET, plus...the SAT and ACT.  The latter have reared their ugly heads in Vietnam of late, so it wouldn't hurt for a teacher to know the test taking strategies for them.  It also wouldn't hurt to have this information on the back of the business cards, or you could even forego the literature and use the cards.

~ Go "Guerrilla" in your marketing.  This would take a little moxie, but I don't think a person would get in trouble for it...most likely!  What I'm suggesting next is a fairly common scene in HCMC, but it's usually a business doing it: