JOBS

Hi!

I would  like  to know whether everybody who moved to Scotland from abroad had  jobs arranged before  they moved or  did  anybody move  there first, and  then looked  for  a  job?  Things in South Africa are so bad now that  the  sooner  we  can leave  and  move  to Scotland  the better - even if  it  means  selling  everything we  own and  taking a  chance.

My partner has  no qualifications but  has  20years experience in the buiding and  airconditioning fields.  He is  a handy-man (jack of  all trades) and  willing  to accept any work.  I have a BA Degree in CriminologyS  through Unisa (May 2000).  I have  been a stay at home mom for  five  years but would be  willing  to work again.   Are there half-day jobs as  we  have  a six  year old  daughter and, as we will not know  anybody I am worried about what  to do (if I am w orking full day) with her after school is out.

We won,t have  many funds  available upon our  arrrival so where would be the  best cheapest towns  for  us  to seek our first accomodation in?  We  will not be  bringing any furniture with us so it  would have to be something  fully furnished. 

Are good second  hand cars relatively cheap there or pricey, like here in South Africa?  I have read  many of  the  comments  on this  forum but  did  not  come across  anything referring to the  purchasing of  vehicles. 

We are determined  about moving  but  as  we  have never moved  abroad  on a permanent basis, there  are so many things to arrange (and  consider!).  We have done enquiries  with  Visalogic, First Contact and Global VIsas as we  will be travelling on an Ancestry Visa.  Any advice  on the  best one to use?

I thank you in advance  for  any information or  advice.  This is a great site! Fantastic information from REAL people  experience!

Sally

Hi Sally!

Welcome to Expat.com ;)

Armand