American curious about tefl in Prague

#1 21 August 2011 23:29:22

branchchris79
branchchris79
Pigeon Forge

American curious about tefl in Prague

Caledonian school in Prague says no experience necessary. I dropped out of college. I wonder is it a scam. Any info about TEFL courses in Prague would be appreciated.

#3 24 August 2011 12:55:43

Cara C
Cara C
Prague

Re: American curious about tefl in Prague

Hi Chris,

I'm Cara. I'm an American, and I have been working in Prague since February 2009. I taught English in Prague for about a year and half after getting my TEFL certificate from TEFL Worldwide Prague, and I now work at TEFL Worldwide (teflworldwideprague.com). To take most TEFL courses, you do not need to have prior experience. And the same goes for getting a job here. Not all companies will require experience. However, to work in Prague and get a visa here legally, you will give yourself the best chance if you have a university degree. A lot of countries these days are requesting a university degree (in any subject) for their employees. It's usually related to the visa laws. Your best shots of working without a degree will be China, Africa, and Latin America.

Where exactly are you from? If you are from the UK, you will still have a shot of securing a job here since you will not need to apply a visa, and I have known UK citizens to teach in Prague without a university degree. However, if you are a non-EU citizen, most schools will want a degree. You may have one other option to work legally in the Czech Republic (something other than a working visa), but this process is much more complicated and is more costly.

#4 07 November 2011 11:04:10

Cara C
Cara C
Prague

Hi,

Hope everyone had a nice weekend :)