Question about banking

Hi everyone.

I'm new here and new to Serbia. I am marrying a Serbian woman and settling down outside Belgrade after living my whole life in the U.S.

I am a writer, and I will continue writing for U.S. publications and Web sites. My question is, how should I best arrange to be paid? I imagine that I will open a bank account in Belgrade and receive checks from U.S. companies in the mail, and deposit them...just as I did when I lived in New York. Is this a reasonable expectation? Which banks accept out-of-Serbia checks?

Every time I talk to someone about this the phrase "wire transfer" comes up. I don't know anything about wire transfers, except that they're expensive. I anticipate receiving a lot of little checks...payments in the $50 to $100 range. Won't the wire-transfer fees gobble up all my money if I go that route?

Does anyone else have experience with receiving U.S. funds in Serbia? How did you deal with it? What's the best way to go?

Thanks in advance for your advice. I look forward to meeting you in Belgrade or Novi Sad!

JDH

Dear JDH,

First of all, welcome to Serbia!

About your question, Which banks accept out-of-Serbia checks, I can tall you for sure, that you can cash-out international check in Raiffaisen Bank.

You can read about it here: http://www.raiffeisenbank.rs/code/navigate.aspx?Id=463

or you can contact bank support here: http://www.raiffeisenbank.rs/code/navigate.aspx?Id=169

Hope this will help you a bit.
Best Regards, Ivan

Ivan--

Thanks so much for the quick and helpful reply!

I'm living in Stara Pazova, a small town between Belgrade and Novi Sad (as near as I can tell). I've been here less than two months, so I haven't done the extended-visa paperwork or any of that yet. So I probably am not in a position to open a bank account yet. But when I do, I will remember your advice.

I am marrying a lovely Serbian girl on August 29. Think of me that day!

JDH

Hi,