If I'm married to an Italian can I travel and re-enter?

I am from Canada - but I've overstayed the 90 day free period Italy offers while waiting for visa issue. I am married to an Italian citizen and have residence in Sicily as-well as Italian recognized marriage documents & am currently applied but waiting on my visa. I have the receipt that says as much

Can I travel to Singapore for urgent work & then be allowed to re-enter Italy upon my return even if the visa hasn't been fully issued? I would be carrying my valid marriage documents as-well as residency paperwork

any help is much appreciated

I believe as you are married to an Italian citizen you can apply for a carta di soggiorno which allows you to stay indefinitely until it is processed….i think you have to register within a week or so of entering the country though, so if you've overstayed you visa you may not be able to do this….

Disclaimer i am not a professional, I am a fellow “married to an italian” and just researching to go through the application process myself

I've been through the same process. let's sort this out: first, the marriage certificate DOES NOT allow you to stay as long as you don't have the Carta di soggiorno (CdS). 2nd, you need to apply within the visa duration of stay (90 days in your case) once you apply you will receive a receipt which allows you to stay in Italy until you get the CdS. 3rd, you would be allowed to travel only the country of origin (Canada in your case) and you should inform where you applied for (Police station) to get the approval to travel and it's only allowed to your country.

Best of wishes!

hi guys thanks for the response - I called an immigration lawyer today to double check things that were said here and figured I would share the response given to me as its quite contradictory.